Location – De Kloek
Material – Latex on plaster
Year – 2017
Photography – Edwin Wiekens
The first record of the Liesbos dates back to 1268, making it one of the oldest Dutch deciduous forests. From the 15th century the forest was owned by the Nassaus, who mainly used it for hunting. The royals would ride through the forest in a carriage and used hunting falcons to hunt blue herons, among others. A fortification made sure that no wildlife could escape from the forest. In 1795 the forest became open to the public.
Near the forest lies ‘de Kloek’, a much used underpass between Breda and the Liesbos. Neighbourhood association ‘De Liesbundel’ contacted the Blind Walls Gallery to spruce up the blotched, dark tunnel. Thijs Lansbergen (NL) took inspiration from the rich history of the area and its residents. His mural is a cheerful arrangement of the forest, plants, birds, squirrels, falcons and people that walk, cycle or eat together.